Pros:

  • Many customizable buttons
  • Side scroll wheel
  • Free scrolling
  • Dark field sensor
  • Rechargeable battery

Cons:

  • Had trouble with Bluetooth

The Logitech MX Master is Logitech’s highest end computer mouse and it has many great and useful features. The mouse also comes in 3 color options so you can choose what color scheme you like.

Programable Buttons

Since the MX Master has so many buttons it is great that you can customize what they do using Logitech’s free software. You can program everything to the side scroll wheel to the back and forward arrows to the gesture button where your thumb rests. You can also change other settings such as scrolling speed and scroll direction.

Side Scroll Wheel

One of the mouse’s great features is the side scroll wheel. You can use this to move horizontally on a webpage instead of vertically. If you don’t want to use it for that you can do what I personally use it for which is to control the volume. This can be configured with Logitech’s software.

Free Scrolling

The scroll wheel on the MX Master is quite different. There are two different modes when scrolling vertically. First there is normal scrolling that you are used to on most computer mice. But then there is also something called Free Scrolling where you can scroll faster through a webpage. This is very helpful when you are trying to move through a very long document or get to the bottom of a website. So how do you activate Free Scrolling? There are two ways you can do it. You can either scroll really fast with the scroll wheel and it will automatically switch to Free Scrolling. Or you can click the button just behind the scroll wheel to activate and deactivate Free Scrolling.

Dark Field Sensor

The sensor on the MX Master is one of the main reasons I bought the mouse. The Dark Field Laser Sensor can work pretty much on any surface including glass. Right now I have an acrylic mat on my desk so to be able to use my mouse without a mouse pad I bought the MX Master since it can work on acrylic and glass.

Bluetooth

The MX Master is special in that it can connect to up to three devices at a time which you can easily switch between. Currently I only use the mouse with my laptop so I don’t use this feature. I like having the option in case I ever get another computer. One problem I did notice with bluetooth is that I sometimes have problems with the mouse connecting to my computer right away and I have to wait a little for it to connect. I don’t know if that is a problem with the mouse or something else but its just what I noticed.

So if you want a super high quality mouse that you can customize and that feels really good it your hands and are willing to spending the extra money to buy the MX Master. I would definitely recommend getting this since its will look really cool on your desk and it has many great features.

If you have any questions about the mouse leave them in the comments. Also if you plan on buying the MX Master let me know down below and tell me what color.

